Posted by: Philip Rushton | March 24, 2016

Preaching At Our Community Easter Sunrise Service

Hi Everyone,

This sunday I will be preaching at an Easter sunrise service at 7:00 a.m. at Steele Chapel.  I’ll be offering some thoughts on John 20:1-18 where Mary encounters Jesus in the midst of her grief.

I know a lot of people who struggle with Easter sunday.  I have a friend who has struggled to attend Easter services since her husband died a few years back.  That is why I appreciate John’s account of the resurrection.  His simple, earthy retelling of the resurrection reminds us that Easter is meant to intersect with our grief.  Easter doesn’t take place in decked out cathedrals with loud brass sections.  Easter doesn’t take place around a dinner table full of family and food.  No, the first Easter takes place in a graveyard next to a grieving woman.  I can’t think of a better place to celebrate Easter than at the chapel at our local cemetery.

This will be an Easter service where you can come as you are.  My prayer is that it will be a time where we might discover the signs of hope and resurrection that are present in the midst of our broken world.

Steele Chapel is located at 5050 Mt Solo Rd, Longview, WA 98632.  This will be a short service that will last about 30-40 minutes. Hope you can join us!

Responses

  1. Phil I wish I could be at the service. I am stuck at home with pneumonia but my heart and prayers will be at Steele Chapel. What a perfect setting for Resurrection Sunday. Many blessings to you and your family.

  2. Dear Pastor Phil, Thank you for this warm and instructive invitation. Due to my scheduled prayer time in the Chapel, I couldn’t consider coming to the Sunrise service, but your words in the invitation were a blessing by themselves.

    Also, thank you for the printed guides in the prayer “watch”. They were very helpful and blessed. May you receive some of the blessings you direct our way. Dolphine Mack

  3. Dear Phil, Thank you for your reply to me. Boy, do I feel silly. Friday was a packed day for me in several aspects. I’ll use that as an excuse for my confusion. Anyway, I hope I can be there at sunrise. Dolphine


Leave a Reply

Categories

