Posted by: Philip Rushton | June 11, 2012

Four Funerals and a Wedding

I suppose one could say I am like a reverse Hugh Grant. During the 1994 hit movie “Four Weddings and Funeral,” Hugh Grant plays a character named Charles who, through the course of attending four weddings and a funeral, learns lessons about life discovers who he really loves. I, too, have been a part of five ceremonies this year, but I have officiated four funerals and one wedding.

Preparing funerals has been a formative process for me. The process usually involves a time of reminiscing with family members about the memories and legacy that their loved one leaves behind. It is interesting to listen to the things that people care about when considering how to honor and celebrate their loved one. It is usually not the big accomplishments that get the most air time. Big business deals and successful investments rarely make the eulogy; rather, it is the memories of time together, the stories of relationships, and the persons character traits that get highlighted. At the end of the day the things we tend to worry about the most (houses, jobs, investments) are not the things that are remembered.

This brings to mind Paul’s words in 1 Corinthians 13. Here Paul says, “If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. 2 If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. 3 If I give all I possess to the poor and surrender my body to the flames, but have not love, I gain nothing.” In the midst of all the things we pursue in our life, Paul reminds us that it is love that has lasting significance.

Last week I blogged about coming back to the basics. Jesus simplifies things for us in the gospels. He reminds us that the summation of the law is “love.” At the end of the day the focus of our life is to love God and love our neighbor as ourselves. Every once and a while I need to come back to those basics and remember what really matters.

Responses

  1. Back to the basics may in fact be the actual foundations. Always Henry 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

