Posted by: Philip Rushton | June 4, 2012

Too Much Information: Pacing our pursuit of God

I feel overwhelmed with too much information this morning. I have about about 7 books on my desk that are all half read, I’m processing thoughts from the two services yesterday, and I am catching up on my scripture reading schedule. The problem is that I have more information than I can apply. The knowledge is piling up, but there seems to be little room or time to actually put it into practice.

So as I sit down to write my weekly blog, I feel as though the last thing the world needs is another blog post to think about! Of course my natural inclination is to write a blog about why I shouldn’t blog! Forgive the irony.

The point I’m getting at is that we need to not only pursue knowledge of God, but also consider the pacing of this pursuit. In John 21:20-23 Peter gets ahead of himself. He wants to know more than is needed. He starts asking Jesus about the fate of another disciple, to which Jesus replies, “what is that to you, follow me.” Peter had a pacing problem. He was inquiring about things that were not needed at the time. Jesus gets him back on track and reminds him to get back to the basics – “follow me.”

My encouragement to you this week is to not necessarily seek out new information, but to pause and ask God, “how do you want me to follow you today?” “What it is that you are calling me to in this moment.” A wise mentor of mine at Regent said that God usually leads us one step at a time. If he inundated us with all the things we needed to learn or change at once we would be overwhelmed. Instead, God usually calls us to address one thing at a time. So what is that thing? What is the next step in your spiritual journey?

My best advice to you today is to stop reading my blog and ask God to lead you on your next step!

Responses

  1. We need to not only pursue knowledge of God, but also consider the pacing of this pursuit.

    Well said, Phil. I very much resonate with your post today.

    • Thanks Ryan. Glad to hear I’m not alone in this challenge!

  2. Head knowledge needs to become heart wisdom. It’s good to learn, but we need to put to use the things we learn. I’m like you, Phil. I love to read and learn and sometimes forget to put into practice what I learn.

  3. This verse has come up for me several times this week, and reading your post it seemed appropriate. Paul writing about some folks:

    “My goal is that they may be encouraged in heart and united in love, so that they may have the full riches of complete understanding, in order that they may know the mystery of God, namely, Christ, in whom are hidden all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge” (Col. 2:2-3).

    The source of understanding, wisdom and knowledge lies in the mystery of God revealed in Christ – not blogs, emails, or our latest sermons (sigh…). We need to reframe our pursuit of knowledge as a task done in the pursuit of Christ.

    • Perhaps Augustine guides us in the right direction through his example in “The Confessions,” where he writes out his theological inquiries in the form of prayer and conversation with God.


Leave a Reply

Categories

