Posted by: Philip Rushton | August 8, 2011

Give Us This Day Our Daily Bread: Responding to the famine in East Africa

I came up to the part in the Lord’s Prayer this morning that says, “give us this day our daily bread.” As I reflect on this part of the Lord’s Prayer I usually jump straight to its metaphorical application. I pray for the sustenance I need to handle the challenges of the day, I pray for the psychological and spiritual needs of people I know. Lately, this part of the Lord’s Prayer has lead me to pray for the current economic woes in America. Fears of government default, the recent downgrade to US credit, and the possibility of rising interest rates have dominated both the news headlines and my prayer life.

Yet, there is a greater and more urgent crisis that is before us – a crisis that makes my fear of the possible spikes in interest on my upcoming mortgage trivial. One of the worst droughts in decades has plagued Eastern Africa. Over 11 million people in Eastern Africa are in need of food support and the World Food Program is facing a 40% funding shortfall to meet these needs. Tens of thousands of children have already died. So today as I prayed “give us this day our daily bread,” I was struck by the fact that for millions of people this is not a metaphorical sentiment. The need for daily bread is a literal need. Please check out the following link to find 10 ways you can help this crisis. The World Food Program currently has 1200 workers on the ground in Somalia and Eastern Africa and needs funding to continue to combat this crisis.

Click on the following link to find out how you can help:

http://www.wfp.org/stories/horn-africa-10-ways-you-can-help

Help those suffering in the Horn of Africa

Leave a Reply

Categories

